This week we learned that the upcoming Google helpful content update would soon promote content, not just demote content. Google also pushed out a search ranking algorithm update, but it was not confirmed. Google Bard now shows citations like Bing Chat, but they are not really good. I explained why I think Google must encourage clicks to publishers with the new Google Search Generative Experience. Google reduces how often the local pack shows up in Google web search. Google Search Console insights has a notice about data changes due to Google Analytics 4. Google has a new bot named Google-InspectionTool. Google is testing a new product detail user interface. Google is testing a circled-in favicon design. Google added more languages to the translated search results feature. Google’s John Mueller said gambling with SEO shortcuts is stupid. Google is testing sharable maps and local pack links. Google is testing new sponsored boxed-in map results, Google Business Profile pending label and a new location for reviews are not verified. Bing Chat is rolling out some new features, including mobile, visual search comparisons, and knowledge cards. Bing Chat is rolling out unauthenticated access support. Bing Chat does show Microsoft Start Partner labels for some answers. Microsoft Advertising is pushing pubCenter, its AdSense alternative, to smaller publishers. Google Shopping Ads and Free listings now allow COVID-19 terms. And if you want to help sponsor those vlogs, go to patreon.com/barryschwartz. That was the search news this week at the Search Engine Roundtable.

SPONSOR: Wix – did you know they now have a headless solution for your content platform and they also announced this week they have integration with Google Ads.

0:00 – Introduction
1:14 – Google Helpful Content Update Can Demote & Now Promote Content : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-helpful-content-update-demote-promote-content-35393.html
2:23 – Google Search Algorithm Ranking Volatility Around May 17th (Unconfirmed) : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-search-algorithm-ranking-volatility-35414.html
3:05 – Google Bard Now Shows Citations Like Bing Chat : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-bard-citations-update-35394.html
3:55 – Why Google Needs To Encourage Clicks To Publishers In The Search Generative Experience – It’s About Ads & Revenues : https://www.seroundtable.com/search-generative-experience-google-publisher-clicks-35382.html
5:47 – Google Reduces Local Pack Results In Web Search? : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-local-pack-drop-35386.html
6:27 – Google Search Console Insights Data Change Notice For Google Analytics 4 : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-search-console-insights-notice-for-google-analytics-4-35401.html
6:49 – New Googlebot: Google-InspectionTool Added To Crawler User Agents : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-adds-google-inspectiontool-to-crawlers-35402.html
7:13 – Google Tests New Product Details & Links In Web Search : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-product-details-links-in-web-search-35390.html
7:31 – Google Search Tests Circled-In Favicon Design : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-circle-closed-favicon-35398.html
7:42 – Google Documents Supported Languages For Translated Search Results : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-supported-languages-for-translated-search-results-35416.html
8:19 – John Mueller Of Google On Gambling With SEO Shortcuts : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-gambling-with-seo-shortcuts-35404.html
9:19 – Google Sharable Links For Recent Searches & Local Packs : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-maps-sharable-links-for-recent-searches-35391.html
9:49 – Google New Maps Sponsored Listing Box, Business Profile Pending Label & Reviews Aren’t Verified Location : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-maps-new-sponsored-listing-box-business-profile-pending-label-reviews-arent-verified-location-35387.html
10:22 – Bing Chat Rolls Out Some Features It Announced Earlier This Month : https://www.seroundtable.com/bing-chat-rolls-out-features-35396.html
10:55 – Bing Chat Now With Visual Search Comparisons, Knowledge Cards & More : https://www.seroundtable.com/bing-chat-visual-knowledge-cards-comparisons-35384.html
11:07 – Bing Chat Rolling Out Not Signed In Access With Limited Chat Sessions : https://www.seroundtable.com/bing-chat-testing-unauthenticated-access-35413.html
11:28 – Example Of Microsoft Start Partner Label In Bing Chat Results : https://www.seroundtable.com/microsoft-start-partner-label-in-bing-chat-results-35400.html
12:03 – Microsoft pubCenter, Google AdSense Alternative, Looking To Expand? : https://www.seroundtable.com/microsoft-pubcenter-expand-relaunch-35411.html
12:48 – Google Shopping Ads & Free Listing To No Longer Restrict COVID-19 Terms : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-merchant-center-covid-19-35395.html
13:12 – Conclusion